City Clerk

Site Navigation

City Council Standing Committee Structure

Detroit City Council's
Standing Committee Structure

Public Health & Safety Committee
Monday 10:00 a.m. 
   Council Member Scott Benson, Chairperson  
   Council Member Raquel Castaneda-Lopez, Member
   Council President Brenda Jones, Ex-Officio

Areas of Responsibility:
  • Airport
  • Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental
  • Fire
  • Municipal Parking
  • Police
  • Detroit Transportation Corporation
  • Department of Administrative Hearings
  • Detroit Area Regional Transit Authority (DARTA)
  • Detroit Wayne County Health Authority
  • Public Works
  • Public Lighting
  • Detroit Water and Sewerage Department (DWSD)
  • Environmental Affairs
  • Health & Wellness Promotion
  • Homeland Security
  • Transportation
  • Greater Detroit Resource Recovery Authority (GDRRA)
  • Southeast Michigan Council of Government (SEMCOG)

Budget, Finance, & Audit Committee
  Wednesday 1:00 p.m.
   Council President Pro Tem George Cushingberry, Jr., Chairperson
   Council Member Castaneda-Lopez, Vice Chairperson
   Council Gabe Leland, Member
   Council President Brenda Jones Ex-Officio

Areas of Responsibility:
  • Budget
  • Finance
  • Auditor General

Formal Session- Brenda Jones, Chair
Tuesday at 10 a.m.

Planning & Economic Development Committee

Thursday 10 a.m.
Council Member Gabe Leland, Chairperson
Council Member Scott Benson, Vice Chairperson
Council Member Mary Sheffield, Member
Council President Brenda Jones, Ex-Officio

Areas of Responsibility:
  • Planning and Development
  • Empowerment Zone
  • Workforce Development
  • Citizens District Council
  • Economic Development Corporation (EDC)
  • Downtown Development Authority (DDA)
  • Detroit Wayne County Port Authority (DWCPA)
  • Detroit Economic Growth Corporation (DEGC)
  • Local Development Finance Authority (LDFA)
  • Detroit Brownfield Redevelopment Authority (DBRA)
  • Detroit Wayne County Stadium Authority
  • Zoning
  • Licensing and Consumer Protection

Neighborhood and Community Services Committee
Thursday at 1 p.m.
Council Member Mary Sheffield, Chairperson
Council Member James Tate, Vice Chairperson
Council Member Andre Spivey, Member
Council President Brenda Jones, Ex-Officio

Areas of Responsibility:
  • Arts
  • Civic Center
  • Library
  • Human Services
  • Historical
  • Youth
  • Senior Citizens
  • Citizens Radio Patrol
  • Homeless Coordination
  • Cultural Affairs
  • Museums
  • Recreation
  • Ombudsman
  • Zoo
  • Neighborhood City Halls

Internal Operations Committee
Wednesday 10:00 a.m.
Council Member Andre Spivey, Chairperson
Council President Pro Tem George Cushingberry, Jr., Vice Chairperson
Council President Brenda Jones, Ex-Officio

Areas of Responsibility:
  • Detroit City Council
  • City Clerk
  • 36th District Court
  • Human Resources
  • Human Rights
  • General Services
  • Pension and Retirements Systems
  • Detroit Wayne Joint Building Authority
  • Council Appointed Boards and Commissions
  • Mayor’s Office
  • Elections Commission
  • Law
  • ITS
  • Board of Ethics
  • Cable Commission
  • Board of Review
  • Detroit Building Authority

Rules Committee
Council President Pro Tem George Cushingberry Jr., Chairperson
Council Member Gabe Leland, Vice Chairperson
Council President Brenda Jones, Ex-Officio