Charter Revision Commission

Site Navigation
The last meeting of the Detroit Charter Revision Commission was on February 21, 2012. The Commission agreed to close down administratively and allow the provisions of the Home Rule City Act to dissolve the Commission.
Charter of the City of Detroit
Charter of the City of Detroit

Effective January 1, 2012
(Adopted by Vote of the People on November 8, 2011)
Charter of the City of Detroit
2012 Charter of the City of Detroit
With Commentary

Copies of the 2012 Charter can be obtained by contacting the Detroit City Clerk, Janice M. Winfrey

Questions on the content of the Charter should be directed to the City of Detroit's Law Department, Governmental Affairs/Municipal Section.

2009-2012 Detroit Charter Revision Commission
Jenice Mitchell Ford, Chair
John E. Johnson, Jr., Vice Chair
Teola P. Hunter, Budget Chair
Kenneth Coleman, Rules & Structure, Chair
Cara Blount, Personnel Chair
Reggie Reg Davis
Kenneth Harris
Tonya Myers-Phillips
Rose Mary C. Robinson

Charter Commission Staff
Gregory Hicks, Executive Director
Lamont D. Satchel, Esq., General Counsel
Gail Partee-Williams, Administrative Assistance